I haven’t posted since May – mostly because life has been good and I’ve been busy. I did have an experience with the evil skin infection cellulitis, which thankfully resolved itself pretty quickly. But mostly the last few months have been full of big business decisions and happy family times.

Poor car, poor me ...

Until this morning … I was returning home after a lovely yoga class and was in a car accident. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the worst, it was about a 3 to 4. NOT what I was hoping for from my day. My car is really a mess thanks to the winch on the other guy’s truck. It’s safe in the towing company’s storage lot for now while I wait for the adjuster to assess the situation. And I am sitting in bed … waiting to hear if I broke any ribs. Or really to find out if my seatbelt broke any of my ribs!

The accident happened in the middle of a string of rainy days, which were already making more achey than normal. Now I am having trouble moving in some directions with this rib pain. Strangely, there’s no bruising on the outside. It’s the perfect example of “But You Don’t Look Sick.”

Interestingly, this accident reminds me how closely connected my core muscles are to my ribs. The hardest part of this pain is what happens when I try to lie down or rise back up from horizontal. I just can’t access my core muscles to help me. But I’m grateful for strong legs and arms to help support what my core can’t. Now I have to be careful not to strain those joints and muscles.

As I said to the x-ray tech, “I feel like a feeble old lady.” And as my spoonie peeps know, we all have been there and we don’t like it at all!

And here’s the rest of the challenge. Much of my ability to see massage therapy clients depends on my ability to move freely. For the last eight years I’ve been able to work pretty darn consistently even with RA, but I cancelled all of my clients today. It’s been quite some time since I’ve had to do that. And as a small business person, I don’t have paid vacation or sick time. So I’m pulling out all the stops to get better soon!

One of the things I always tell my clients is that the MOST important time to eat healthy food is when your body is trying to heal. Your body needs all the fuel for its building blocks to rebuild the injured tissue … and this doesn’t come from cheeseburgers and french fries. It comes from fresh veggies, whole fruits and some lean protein. So although my mom suggested hot cocoa (and I may do that!), I am also making sure I eat super healthy. In fact once I made it back home, I made myself a green smoothie right away. Some part of the reason was to have food in my stomach to calm my nerves. Another part was to get food in my stomach to take my meds. And then the general need to feed myself the healing food!

Send me some prayers and healing thoughts if you would … and I’ll really really try to get back here and update you on my progress. Thanks friends!